My Babies

As promised, I give you a picture of what I planted.

My Babies!

My Babies!

That’s Rosemary, Lavender, Sage, Thyme (Orange and Lemon varieties), Yarrow, Marjoram and Parsley in the herb bed. I will be adding plain Thyme, along with Dill, Calendula, and Mugwort later (yes, there is enough room). I’m thinking about filling up the spaces in between the herbs with annuals this year, since I know the herbs are going to get MUCH BIGGER in time.

In the second bed (which I couldn’t get a good picture of because the light was terrible) I planted lettuce, chard, kale, mustard greens, nasturtiums, and chives.  And watching over the tender little greens is this:

gifts2

Soft and Fuzzy

Yes, that’s a big fuzzy mullein. Yes, to some people it’s a weed. To me it’s an extra special added bonus gift from the garden. Anyone who has read my blog for a while knows of my abiding affection for weeds–and mullein is one I’ve never really worked with before, though I’ve admired her tall spires in ditches and at the edges of farmer’s fields. I don’t know very much about Mullein except that the blossoms are used in a (very effective) oil for ear troubles. But when I started clearing the beds and saw the Mullein there, it seemed like a sign that it might be time to work with the plant. So I carefully weeded around it. We’ll see if it plays nicely with my greens or not.

I admit there’s a disappointing lack of dandelion and chickweed in the garden. But now we’ve cleared some ground, I think there’s a good chance they’ll turn up. Just don’t tell the neighbors I’m hoping for more weeds.

I’m excited to see what will happen in my little postage stamp garden. I thought I might feel disappointed not to have more herbs, but I’m actually looking forward to discovering how a handful of plants will meet my culinary and witchy needs. I’m sure you’ll hear all about it in the coming months.

One Comment to “My Babies”

  1. They look happy! :) I’m glad you’re enjoying the space.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 779 other followers

