L is for Lavender: Pagan Blog Project 2013

The thing about magical herbalism is that it’s not as simple as following a chart. Or I should say, you CAN follow a chart, and your spell will probably work (though not necessarily the way you expect, but that’s a whole other post.) But you will probably have more potent, effective magic if you work with herbs personally and come to understand the way certain herbs resonate with you–or don’t.

Take Lavender as an example.

Lavender is a popular herb. Its smell is lovely and soothing, and it’s often used in magic for healing, protection, and love. I find Lavender comforting, so it’s a good fit for me when I want to do healing magic.

But I know a few people who really can’t stand the smell of lavender. For those people, lavender would be a bad choice for a healing spell.

On the other hand, suppose one of these lavender-haters was directing a lot of negative energy my way, and I felt a need to do a protective spell or charm using herbs. I would begin with a standard spell to block negative energy–probably using white clover. But I could give the spell a very personal element by adding lavender blossoms, and it would serve a dual purpose. The smell of the lavender would sooth me and create calmer, more harmonious vibes in my personal space. But it would also serve as a specific repellant for the lavender hater–a fine example of how well suited plants are to custom tailored magic.

Lavender in particular is also a good example of how gentle things should not be underestimated. Sure, Lavender is fairly mild and tends to be soothing and calming. But it is also seriously potent, energetically speaking. Simple, common plants can still be powerful, and a smart magical practitioner won’t underestimate them.

About Michelle

Just one of many queer pagan creative types, writing, knitting and navel gazing in the Pacific Northwest. View all posts by Michelle

3 responses to “L is for Lavender: Pagan Blog Project 2013

  • Lynxa

    I whole-heartedly agree about the importance of working with personal correspondences (whether herbs, stones, colors, etc.) And I used to think I didn’t like the smell of lavender, but then I realized that I don’t like lavandin, and there are actually several varieties of lavender that I do like. I now have a happy lavender plant growing on my back deck, I believe the variety is Ana Luisa (though we call her Ana for short :)

  • beyondmd aka Heartblaze

    hi dear the lavender, sage, yarrow and bee balm is in perfect smudge stick harvesting phase. How’s your schedule? G

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 847 other followers

