Z is for Zoisite: Pagan Blog Project 2013

Z is for ZoisiteYears of working with stones has taught me that the commonly accepted metaphysical uses of a stone aren’t the whole story.

If you google “metaphysical uses of zoisite” you’ll find a variety of answers, from enhancing psychic abilities to preventing mood swings. Any of those uses can be the correct one, depending on the circumstances.

When you’re looking at the ways a plant or stone affects a persons spirit, there is no one correct answer. If you think about it, it’s not that surprising–consider how fragrance, color, flavor affects each person differently. The effects of a fragrance goes beyond informing us about the physical qualities of the scent; each smell can trigger memories and emotions that have nothing to do with the present moment. I think the way stones and plants work in metaphysical healing and spellwork is like scent–it evokes different spiritual and energetic responses in each of us.

For me, zoisite is a soft, soothing, comforting stone. Zoisite with ruby inclusions radiates that soothing energy right to the heart. In times of heartbreak, I often find myself reaching for a smooth piece of ruby in zoisite and fidgeting with it until I feel calmed and comforted.

I’ve never found a reason to use it in magic, but I imagine it would be a wonderful addition to healing spells and elixirs. And it’s so beautiful, I tend to keep it on my altar so I can see it whenever I wish.

About Michelle

Just one of many queer pagan creative types, writing, knitting and navel gazing in the Pacific Northwest. View all posts by Michelle

One response to “Z is for Zoisite: Pagan Blog Project 2013

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 840 other followers

