IF YOU HAVEN’T READ HARRY POTTER 7 YET DON’T READ THIS

Because it contains SPOILERS!

Harry Potter 7 was completely enjoyable. Jeff and I arrived home Monday at 4:30 p.m., we unloaded my car, and then I threw in a load of laundry and promptly retired to my room to read. I only stopped to go to the bathroom, and stayed up until 2:30 in the morning so I could finish the book. I have to say I was RIGHT! I love being right!!!! I REPEAT, SPOILER AHEAD, THAT MEANS I’M GOING TO TALK ABOUT WHAT HAPPENED IN THE BOOK SO IF YOU HAVEN’T READ IT AND YOU DON’T WANT TO KNOW SKIP THIS PART! I totally knew Snape was in love with Lily Potter and that SHE was the reason he betrayed Voldemort, I KNEW IT I KNEW IT!! I love it when I’m right. Doesn’t happen very often. I also knew Rowling wouldn’t kill Harry off permanently, and I knew Ron and Hermione would get married and so would Harry and Ginny, and I was pretty sure that either Snape hadn’t actually killed Dumbledore OR Snape and Dumbledore had arranged the killing ahead of time. I’m so happy to have Snape vindicated, actually, because I wanted him to be a good guy, especially for the sake of the movies because I love Alan Rickman! I’m a dork, I know, but there it is. Oh and NEVILLE! Neville was simply splendid. What a grand chap. Only why didn’t Rowling have Neville and Luna marry each other at the end? Of course she never says they DON’T marry each other, she just doesn’t point out that they DO. For shame. And Mrs. Weasley screaming “Not my daughter you bitch” and taking on Belletrix Lestrange, oh well done, I LOVED it. Of course I was seriously bummed that she killed off Lupin and Tonks, bummer, but still! I suppose, dark lord and all, some people have to die right? The only problem is that I was so tired, and I read it in such a red hot haze, that my memories of it are pretty fuzzy and I’m going to have to re-read it to retain details. Like how the whole thing worked with Harry having to die but not die, I’m totally unclear on that. So . . . anyway! I think I will read all the books over, in the now complete set.

And now to reveal to the world just how deep my geekness goes, I will share this. I am so sad that the series is over. Seriously sad, the way you feel when someone you like moves away. It’s like I’ll be lonely for the characters and the setting and all that. Now you know I’m the biggest dork in the whole world. Okay maybe not the biggest, I didn’t need therapy to help me get over the grief of Dumbledore dying, so you know, maybe I still have a bit of a grip. But said grip is, perhaps, somewhat infirm.

Perhaps I’ll have to drown my sorrows in chocolate.

5 thoughts on “IF YOU HAVEN’T READ HARRY POTTER 7 YET DON’T READ THIS

  1. I have heard rumors and am glad to hear the ‘truth’ … it will take me mega-long to read the book – I haven’t even read some of the earlier ones, yet. I need to go to the library and stock up on HP books and catch up.

    I am glad to know that *I* was right – not about Snape- love the actor, but didn’t have any feelings one way or another except that he was a grouchy good guy. But I knew Harry and Ginny would hook up and I knew from the very beginning that Ron and Hermione would too. I mean, it was totally obvious about that!!

    Now you have made me hunger for the details and I will HAVE to call the library and reserve the books.

    Blessings

  2. Hi! I’m the biggest Harry Potter fan in my family, as I enjoy all the books and the movies too. I also love reading other people’s reactions to the books, and I couldn’t help but post a comment here since I feel the same way as you about being right about the way things turned out in the end. I think that just goes to show that J.K. Rowling did an outstanding job in setting things up in the story from the beginning. All the different events that led from one thing to another make complete sense. I was so glad when I finished the book because it answered so many questions I had and I could finally stop wondering what was going to happen next. I agree with you about Snape (and Alan Rickman) too. My favorite chapter of all chapters in the entire series is “The Prince’s Tale.” I’ve read the first three books several times over the years, and I wouldn’t mind re-reading the entire series again now that it’s complete. Thanks for sharing your thoughts about the books. I really enjoyed reading your post.

  3. Hi, Greenwoman! I found you through Mother Wintermoon and was thrilled to find another Harry Potter fan. I read through the first time same as you and have since gone back and read it again. Highly recommend it. I was laughing out loud and cheering Mrs. Weasley on when she took on Bellatrix and also uttered a sigh of relief re: Snape. I, too, adore Alan Rickman. He’s one of my favorite actors.

    And yes, I, too, will miss them enormously. Thanks for sharing your dorkiness with the rest of us (you’re in good company).

  4. I’ve been waiting weeks to read this post and finally I got to today.

    Like yourself, I was right about a few things: Dobby and Neville save the day in their own ways. JK, however, never explained why Dobby left his master’s house (the Malfoys) to warn Harry in the first place. I think it was because Lily was kind to him in some way he never forgot. Remember, she was always described as being incredibly kind and caring.

    And you’re right about JK not killing off Harry. I knew she would give it a happy ending. Her fan based would’ve rebelled if Harry had died.

    I have to admit though, I still don’t get the whole Elder Wand thing. I’ll have to go back and read those sections again to see if I can figure it out.

    I’m pleased with how the series was written and how it ended. I wish as I was pleased with the movies. They haven’t stuck to the story, especially the last movie, so I don’t have much hope for them anymore. It’s too bad JK gave away the rights to the movie company. Had she kept them, she could’ve had creative control over the script and kept the movies true to the books.

    On a completely unrelated note, I’m doing the seed exchange again. Details on my site.

Leave a Reply

