What’s YOUR Favorite Herb Book?

I love books. And I love herbs. So books on herbs . . . well, you can imagine how they make me feel. I love them!

It’s tough for me to decide which is my favorite, but the first book on herbs I fell in love with was Judith Berger’s beautiful Herbal Rituals, published in 1998 by St. Martin’s Griffin. Everything about this book appeals to me, from the rustic looking cover, to its perfect reading-in-bed size, to the gentle tone of the author and her obvious love for the plants she writes about.

herbalrituals.jpg

Herbal Rituals is organized in to 12 chapters, one for each month of the year, and a last sort of epilogue called “The Thirteenth Month: Pausing”. For each month the author shares memories of her experiences with the seasons, and with one or two herbs. She then discusses each herb in depth, and provides recipes for food, beauty, and healing with each herb. She explains how to make an infused oil, an herbal honey, a salve, a full strength infusion, a tincture, etc. Berger also shares information on how the plants are used in various cultures for ritual and magic. Even though it’s so full of information, it’s compulsively readable. Tender, wise, comforting, and personal, it’s one of my favorite bedtime reading choices.

Some other favorites of mine are all of the Susun Weed books, Rosemary Gladstar’s Family Herbal, and Ellen Evert Hopman’s A Druid’s Herbal for the Sacred Earth Year.

So what about you? What are your favorite herbals, and why? I’m always looking for new things to read, so leave me a comment and let me know.

4 thoughts on “What’s YOUR Favorite Herb Book?

  1. I love Herbal Rituals, Susun Weed’s Books and of course the Druid’s Herbal…By the way, there’s another druid herbal coming out soon: A Druid’s Herbal of Sacred Tree Medicine.
    I also recommend Opening our Wild Hearts to the Healing Herbs by Gail Faith Edwards (from Blessed Maine Herbs) and Tree Medicine, Tree Magic…I have a whole collection of herbal books (and I’m very picky: I only get la creme de la creme ;D) so I’ll have to get back to you about that.

  2. That’s such a hard question! I definitely like Rosemary Gladstar’s Family Herbal. And I reference David Hoffman’s Medical Herbalism a good bit. I also really love Nutritional Herbology by Mark Pedersen. And Maurice Messegue – Of People & Plants was a fantastic read about an herbalist in France!!

Leave a Reply

