Back Yard Herbalism: Dandelion Flower Infused Oil

One of the most delightful things I’ve made with my dandelion flowers is dandelion flower infused oil, and a salve made by adding beeswax to that infused oil. I use the infused flower oil as a salve on my hands when they’re sore and chapped from a day of working in a nursery, getting scratched up by plastic pots, and dried out from all the water and dirt. I could wear gloves, but they make me feel clumsy, and you can’t check the moisture of the soil very well if you’re wearing gloves. But dandelion blossom oil, and the salve made from it, have many other uses:

One of the chief uses for the oil, described by Wise Woman Tradition herbalists, is as a breast massage oil. This beautiful bright yellow salve or oil helps to ease premenstrual soreness, and also helps to soften fibrous or thickened breast tissue. Used in this way, the oil is said to strengthen the immune system, protect against cancer, and increase one’s sense of self-worth.

Dandelion oil is also a lovely pain reliever, helpful in soothing arthritic joints, back tension, sinus headaches, stiff necks, and weepy swollen skin sores. I personally can attest to the way it soothes sore muscles, especially in the neck, as I just used it last night after a day of carrying around heavy potted plants. It doesn’t have a numbing effect–rather, it helps the body relax a bit, easing that tightness that can be so painful.

And remember that elixir I made, with the intention of expansive energy and release of blocked emotions? It seems that the oil functions much the same way, not only promoting relaxation, but also aiding the body in releasing emotions trapped in the muscles. I can’t tell you how much sense this makes to me at the energetic level, with the way dandelion is so free and giving and abundant. It also makes me think about how our culture tends to be so constricted emotionally, how we try to cover and shove down all the negative feelings, resorting to drugs if necessary to keep us from feeling them; and meanwhile, dandelion is crowding around our homes, constantly shouting out to us that she can help us let our emotions flow and find resolution. I feel like I should make gallons of the infused oil and share it with everyone I know.

So I assume most people who read about herbs know how to make an infused oil, but in case you don’t, Susun Weed has a great article on herbal infused oils here. One note, however–I attended a conference last summer, and herbalist Heather Nic an Fhleisdeir recommends only steeping moist things like dandelion and calendula flowers in oil for two weeks, and/or allowing the flowers to wilt somewhat before putting them in a jar and adding oil.

So I know I’m totally a dandelion disciple right now–thanks for your patience, y’all. I’m just so fascinated by all the ways this much-maligned little plant could be one of our best friends if we’d let it. Spread the word, and I promise some day I’ll talk about something different.

And if you think this is bad? Just wait until my roses are blooming.

19 thoughts on “Back Yard Herbalism: Dandelion Flower Infused Oil

  1. Love this idea! I will try to think of this instead of sighing and staring at all of the dandelions all over the place. 🙂 Just found your blog and love it!

  2. hey greenie!

    you just keep it coming with the dandelions 🙂

    i’ve been backyard herbalising over on Earth and Tree .. posted on Cowslips today

    take care and keep doing what you do (it makes my heart glad to read your blog) 🙂

  3. Dear Greenwoman, Just found your blog from the link at hedgewitch’s place. Love the ideas for the dandelions. My neighbors are quite put out with me for letting mine go…now if I can keep up with harvesting them, we’ll all be happy.

    garden blessings,

    bobbi c.

  4. Awwww thanks for all the compliments y’all . . . I’ll have a big head for sure if you keep it up.

    Bobbi C., maybe you can make your neighbors some dandelion pancakes and they’ll see that you’re smart for letting the dandelion’s grow.

  5. I stumbled upon this looking for ideas on how to make a dandelion salve, a salve recommended to me by my mother for eczema. My mother’s grandmother (born 1904) used to make a dandelion salve for her hands when they were dry or rashy. I love the history inherent in herbalism. Thanks for the other usage ideas!

  6. I have just made my second batch of dandelion salve the colour and the feel are wonderful. I also like the earthy rich scent. It great for ageing skin and for those horrid dried summer feet. Thanks.

  7. Gloria, I make a salve by melting beeswax in to the infused oil on a double boiler. I use approximately 1 ounce of beeswax per 1 cup of oil, and very low heat–just warm enough to melt the wax. Pour it in to a small, wide-mouthed jar and let it cool. Easy!

    There are probably a million other methods out there too if you poke around!

  8. What a great post! I found you on google under Dandelion Oil. I have been reading Susan Weed’s “Healing Wise” these past few days! It is great! I wanted to hear about other people’s experience with the oil. I had never heard of it until reading about it. I have already made a Dandelion Wine before that is mighty tasty, now I get to add this healing oil to my repertoire! I have a blog too where I post about my remedies, recipes & products I create at http://www.honeybeeholistics.blogspot.com

  9. Thanks! Will do. I have made a vinegar yet haven’t quite found a good way to use it yet. I am also making an infused oil with the flowers – this I will use in a salve. I found your article when I wasn’t sure if I should leave any green stuff in there or not! 😉

  10. What is the best oil to use for the infused oil and salve. I have several kinds of oil, like hemp, rice bran, coconut sunflower and safflower oil. Can these be used as well as olive oil?

    1. Linda, I like Olive Oil best because it resists rancidity so well and is readily available–but I know other herbalists use all different kinds of oils with good effect. Some even use animal fat! So if you have an oil that your skin really loves, I would try it and see how it works. If you are not sure how it will turn out, you could always try making a smaller amount of infused oil to begin with.

  11. My dandelion oil has a little globby stuff at the bottom of the jar after decanting. Will it be ok to use?

  12. Howdy are using WordPress for your site platform?
    I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and create my own.
    Do you need any html coding knowledge to make your own blog?
    Any help would be really appreciated!

Leave a Reply

