Back Yard Herbalism: Dandelion and Depression

I often mention Judith Berger’s Herbal Rituals as a must-read herbal. So I turn to a direct quote from her dandelion section to talk about Dandelion’s beneficial influences on those who suffer from depression:

Dandelion’s bright yellow blossoms are very sensitive to light and weather conditions, closing up their heads in the face of impending darkness and storms. Dandelion is a wonderful ally for those with a similar emotional constitution, whose hearts open fully and joyously when warmth and light are beamed upon them, but who wither and shut down quickly when more turbulant emotions are expressed in their presence.

A tea of the fresh blossoms is often used to treat depression; the sense I get from what I’ve read about dandelion, and just the kind of energy that comes from dandelion, is that it would be especially helpful for those whose emotions are closed down, who are turned inward from hurt or lack of a sense of love and worthiness. I feel that this goes hand in hand with the way dandelion blossoms encourage that emotional expansiveness I’m always going on about.

I also feel that one would benefit even more from taking ones cup of fresh dandelion blossom tea outside and sitting in a field of blooming dandelions. Gazing on all that golden exuberance whilst sipping a tea full of sunshine blossoms would be a delicious experience for the weary soul. And most likely it would benefit even the happiest of us–sunshine and flowers being one of life’s great delights. Dandelion seems to remind us of the beauty and joy found in simple, humble things, and I think that’s something many of us are missing. Remember how much delight you could have as a child just blowing all the white puffy seed-parachutes off a dandelion head on a breezy day, watching those little bits of fairy fluff wheel away over the grass? I still get a thrill from it–although that might be because I know it means more dandelions will grow . . .

2 thoughts on “Back Yard Herbalism: Dandelion and Depression

  1. I love this idea. I never thought of dandelions like this. I usually just eat the leaves or decoct the roots. I’ve never focused on the flowers.

    I need them. This afternoon I will do this.

  2. I finally had a chance to be alone this afternoon and did indeed pluck some dandelion blossoms from the garden for a cup of tea.

    How uplifting! Thank you again for this idea.

Leave a Reply

