Backyard Herbalism: The Last Dandelion Blossom Post?

Well ladies and gentlemen, I think this might be my last post focused on dandelion blossoms for a little while! But I’m not going to promise anything–obsessions are sometimes hard to kick.

First, a bit of trivia: did you know that each “petal” on a dandelion head is really an entire flower, containing all the reproductive parts? So a dandelion blossom is actually a whole community of tiny flowers. Isn’t that amazing? No wonder dandelion plays so well with others.

So. Dandelion blossoms are very nourishing for the nervous system. For this reason, the blossoms of dandelion steeped in white wine for an hour or two help bring deep, restful sleep. The dandelion elixir I made was steeped in home-brewed white wine given to me by my friends husband; she’s been taking a small amount every evening, roughly a quarter of a cup, and it has greatly improved her sleep. She was suffering from intense insomnia, so it’s been a welcome change.

This same preparation–and any preparation of any part of the dandelion plant–also aids the body in digestion of food.

And finally, dandelion blossom fritters (pancakes) help to dissipate lethargy and restore physical vitality.

I can attest to the way consuming dandelion regularly helps with energy and mood. I’ve been consuming some part of the plant almost daily–not in great quantity, mind you–over the past month, and I’m noticing improved energy and cheerfulness in spite of weather that is colder and wetter than it usually is this time of year. Of course, dandelion is only part of the picture. I’m getting more fresh air (because I’m hanging out with plants so much), more exercise (walking around picking dandelions! among other things) and generally eating more greens and wild plants. One herb is not going to fix all that ails a person–think of them as friends and allies, not saviors, and you’ll be on the right track.

I hope all my posts this month have helped more people think of dandelions as a friend. I know I haven’t convinced my mother, but from the comments I’ve received I think maybe a few people will be nicer to their dandelions, and that’s good enough for me.

5 thoughts on “Backyard Herbalism: The Last Dandelion Blossom Post?

  1. You have changed my view. I love wild flowers and have a lot in my garden. I never thought I had dandelions until I read one of your posts and started looking. I have found them hiding here and there. I must say I have even started pointing them out of my grandchildren when out and about. “Hey look at all those dandelions”
    So I am a convert, hooked on the dandelion. As a poor sleeper I am going to try the dandelion wine. Tku for brilliant posts…you have a talent for writing interest and absorbing pieces.

  2. Dandelion seed heads appear to hold the answers (or the questions?) to the Universe within their very existence! I understand your infatuation, and it can only be (this) life-long! I’m so pleased I found your blog!

  3. I was already sold on dandelion greens salad as it’s a staple in French cuisine, but never heard of cooking the flowers other than in cramaillote (a kind of jelly) or wine. I’m very curious to try dandelion blossom fritters! Thanks for sharing

Leave a Reply

