Mystery Solved! and the May Tree

By Fiya, who came up with Small-Flowered Buttercup (Ranunculus parviflorus). After some image searching I’m pretty sure she’s right on the money.

Also, it appears that my church might take off; I told the hubster this morning I think we should call it the Church of the Wild Green, and he chuckled. I have an offer from Howling Hill to start up an East Coast branch, and a congregation of one (someone named Beth–hi Beth!), although I don’t know which branch she’ll join.

So, on to the very serious business of what’s up next in my Backyard Herbalism adventure. I’ve been hemming and hawing, but at last I’ve decided that May is clearly the month to spend time with Hawthorne, the May Tree. I hope to begin posting about her by the end of the week.

Until then, thanks to everyone who hazarded a guess about my weed! You may consider yourselves officially blessed by Reverend Michelle

One thought on “Mystery Solved! and the May Tree

  1. I’m ready to celebrate hawthorne with you. We have some growing down by the creek — something I discovered after falling in love with it from the dried stuff I had been buying.

    I’m ready to harvest from the trees near me this year.

    Have you been to the Hoyt Arboretum? They have a grove of hawthornes, and it’s cool to see the differences. Some have very long thorns (like the Washington Hawthorne, with more orange berries). I like looking at the differences in leaf shapes.

    Hawthorne has been my special herbal friend this year.

Leave a Reply

