Joyous Summer Solstice

The morning sunlight, exquisite on the rose petals.

Today we celebrate the light. We celebrate the strength of summer, the triumph of the sun. Today is the longest day, in daylight hours, of the solar year.

Mugwort is growing tall.

Today we gather to thank the earth for her abundance, especially the abundance of green that feeds and heals us. We have been given so much.

This morning I stood in the damp grass in the middle of my front yard and watched the sun move over the herbs and flowers around me. My heart is so full–so full, it almost hurts.

There are times I complain. There are times when I feel overwhelmed by all the things that fill my plate, and I wonder if I can handle it. In those times it helps to remember to be grateful for a full plate.

A full cupboard.

A full garden.

A full heart.

Today will be full of the light of the sun.

And today, I’ll thank the sun for its blessings, for one of the many ways it helps my life be full, by giving life to the plants that feed and heal and beautify the earth.

I wish you all a Joyous Solstice! May you walk in beauty, today and every day.

4 thoughts on “Joyous Summer Solstice

  1. That is the most beautiful flower! It never ceases to amaze me the beautiful and spiritual uplifting aspects found in nature. Oh how I would have loved to have seen this flower in all of its glory in person.

Leave a Reply

