Gorgeous Stranger

I need your help.

I’ve encountered the most amazing plant/shrub/bush/tree in the woods, and I’ve searched and searched  and I can’t figure out what it is.

It’s growing on a hillside in a montane habitat; probably 30 to 50 feet up from the shore, where the creek feeds in to the lake. There are actually three or four of these; I’m not sure if they are bushes or  young trees. They’re between three and six feet tall, I think.

Here’s a picture of the leaves and you can see some flowers peeking out:

speckle7

Here’s a picture of some of the young twigs; I thought their shapes, and the weird little knobby bits, were sort of interesting:

speckle1

The “trunk” or larger branches have rougher, more speckled and bumpy bark. And now, for pictures of hte amazing, tiny flowers, all smaller than my thumb nail.

speckle5

Note how the one above has only four petals, and the middle bit has only four sections? (Sorry, I really need to learn my botany terminology, I promise I will some day). All the other flowers I photographed have five petals and five segments in the middle. Interesting, huh?

speckle6

speckle3

The picture above is, obviously, the back/underside of the flower, plus one tight shiny little bud.

speckle4

Anyone have any idea what this is? Other than stunning . . .

5 thoughts on “Gorgeous Stranger

  1. Try wahoo, or Euonymus. Spindlebush is another name.

    The seedpods are so stunning that you very rarely see photos of the flowers …
    but if that’s not it then sorry, I don’t know what it could be.

Leave a Reply

