On the Tenth Day of NaNo (Plus a Review of Ash)

We are one third of the way through NaNo. Hardly seems possible.

I passed 62,000 words.

I finished reading Ash by Malinda Lo. (SPOILER ALERT! DON’T READ IF YOU DON’T WANT TO KNOW THINGS ABOUT THE BOOK!) It was beautifully written, and I loved, loved, loved that this was a lesbian Cinderella story, with a male faery providing the awesome dress. It was a very nice book, if you like the medieval-ish village-ish setting, with the swirling cloaks and the gleaming horses and the bread and cheese in a satchel when you go out riding for the day. I prefer more urban fantasy/magical realism myself, but that’s purely subjective.

Lo brought some very new things to the story, and if you like straight fantasy you will probably like it a lot. Her world building was pretty good, and I liked the way the culture she created had its own fairy tales, and a few times during the story characters tell the tales to each other. My only real complaint is that she sets up the heroine in a very sticky situation . .  . and then lets her off the hook WAY too easily. The heroine doesn’t really work for it, in my opinion. Still, it was a very pretty book, and quite chaste for those of you who are concerned about the sexual content of the books your younguns are reading.

I was once again reminded of how good it is to have writing buddies, of the local and internet variety. Two of my writing friends helped me resolve some plot issues I was having, and the resultant solutions are way better than anything I would have come up with on my own. Two heads are better than one, don’t you know.

And now I’m going to climb in my bed with a book, and cuddle the kitties, and enjoy a relaxing evening.

Leave a Reply

