On the Eighteenth Day of NaNo

I made it to 95,000 words! I am 5,000 words from my goal, and I’m pretty sure I can finish the manuscript in that many words. If I finish early, I am considering working on some short stories until the month is over, but I might just work on the outline of books 2 and 3. I’m sure I won’t really decide until the last possible minute. I can’t wait to start editing, but I know I’ll be better off letting the rough draft sit and cool off a little before I start poking at it.

I started working on writing down my method for creating a drawstring pouch from any kind of yarn available. It’s not exactly a pattern–it’s more of an instruction manual for how to make your OWN pattern from whatever yarn you have available. I think it’s going to take a long time, but I think people will like the results.

I realized that I never really mentioned on this blog that I’ve re-opened the Etsy shop on a very limited basis–just patterns for the Knitted Goddess for now, and when I get the plot bunny pattern written, and the pouch instructions written, those will be in the shop too.

I also realized I never told y’all that I’m on Ravelry! I know I have a lot of on-line friends who knit, so if you’re on Ravelry, come find me! My user name is MichelleSimkins. Yes, that’s right, more ways to stalk me. I make it so easy. I hope that will keep away the really scary people, who will lose interest when they realize that there’s no challenge.

On another note, I had SO much fun at the write-in last night. There were several people, we did some word wars, and we talked about YA fantasy novels, my favorite favorite genre! Our municipal liaison–who I liked a lot!–was there with her son, who was reading Leviathan. I really wanted to steal his copy, but I was afraid I wouldn’t be allowed to come to write-ins anymore, so I refrained.

That’s all I’ve got today, y’all. Maybe tomorrow I’ll write a little review of Maureen Johnson’s Devilish, which I finished reading last night.

Happy Writing!

Leave a Reply

