What Do You Mean By “Best”, Exactly?

So, because I know how you all rely on my opinions to decide what to read, I’m working on some “Best of 2009” posts.

But I have this dilemma.

I have mentioned before that I am shallow. What makes me happy in a book is not always related to its scintillating prose or it’s provocative, though provoking premise. I read mostly for emotional tone, I like happy endings, I’m pretty focused on fantasy fiction, and I’m not a big fan of most literary things.

So the dilemma is: do I list my favorites of 2009 in order of my personal enjoyment, or in order of my opinion of the quality of the prose, etc.? Or should I just list them in random order, as they occur to me? I love a good count down, but I suppose I could do without one . . .

I am undecided, so I thought . . . why not do a poll? That way you, citizens of the blogosphere, get to CHOOSE. Isn’t that democratic of me?

So what do you think?

One thought on “What Do You Mean By “Best”, Exactly?

Leave a Reply

