I Always Forget I Like Superheroes: A Review of Dull Boy

I don’t read comic books, and if anyone were to ask me if I was in to Superheroes I would probably say “no”. But I think I would really be lying, because I kind of DO have a thing for superheroes, as I was reminded when I read Sarah Cross’s Dull Boy. Teenage Superheroes? I wasn’t so sure. But many people had good things to say about it, so I decided to give it a try. Blurb:

What do you do if you can deadlift a car, and you spend your nights flying to get away from it all? If you’re fifteen-year-old Avery Pirzwick, you keep that information to yourself. When you’re a former jock turned freak, you can’t afford to let the secret slip.

But then Avery makes some friends who are as extraordinary as he is. He realizes they’re more than just freaks—together, maybe they have a chance to be heroes. First, though, they have to decide whether to trust the mysterious Cherchette, a powerful wouldbe mentor whose remarkable generosity may come at a terrible price.

I was surprised to completely love it. I read it all in one go, then handed it off to The Mad Scientist, who also loved it. (I am a little concerned about the fact that I seem to have the same taste in books as my 14 year old Stepson. Concerned about me, not about him. Do I really have the mentality of a teenage boy? I’m starting to think I do. But anyway . . .)

Of course our heroes have plenty of adventures (and misadventures) together. They get to save the day a few times. They face sinister forces. They try on interesting costumes.

But what I love most about Dull Boy was the way the characters relate to each other. I love the exploration of relationships between Avery and his old friends, between Avery and his new friends, between Avery and his parents. And oh how I love the development of the friendship between Avery and the sharp-tongued Catherine. Completely delightful. I would say more, but I don’t want to do that spoiler thing too much, so I’ll just say, highly recommended. Teenage superheroes (and one super genius). Totally fun.

3 thoughts on “I Always Forget I Like Superheroes: A Review of Dull Boy

  1. There is definitely something about superheroes that draws us in. This one sounds interesting and I love the way you describe the characters and their relationships. Thanks for sharing this.

Leave a Reply

