Earth Day is Coming! How About a Present?

Honestly we try to live every day like it’s earth day. But you know, it doesn’t hurt to celebrate the planet a little extra. And this year is Earth Day’s 40th anniversary. That’s kind of awesome.

Gratuitous Tulip Shot

Today I want to share with you a couple of Earth Day Giveaways–one by a fellow Etsian, and one of my own.

Friends first: Fiber artist and all around neato person Morgen of Kootsac and Inky Spider is giving away some of her reusable bulk food bags, AND a really gorgeous amazing grocery tote. There are several ways to win: visit her blog for details.

Gratuitious Extreme Closeup

And now, my own giveaway. Since this is a big anniversary for Earth Day, I will give away winner’s choice of a Year Ahead Faeries’ Oracle Reading OR a Distance Reiki Session/Energy Body Reading. And since I think they are wise, and very much like guidelines I have used before I will steal Morgen’s ways to enter (with a couple of additions of my own):

You will receive an entry for each of the following:

  • Visit Green Fingers on Etsy and post a link to your favorite item in a comment here.
  • Twittering about this giveaway will earn you another entry. Please be sure to direct it to @Green__Woman on Twitter so I’ll see it and leave another comment here so I can count your entry.
  • Visit Green Fingers on Facebook, tell your friends on Facebook about this event – then come here and let me know.
  • Posting in your blog about this giveaway will earn you an entry – be sure to leave a comment here with your blog link.
  • All purchases made at Green Fingers shop during this event will earn 1 entry for every $5 spent. You do not have to mention that as a comment here but you are welcome to continue participating on my blog and earn more entries.
  • Host an earth-friendly giveaway on  your blog–either an item that is created using sustainable means, or an item that helps others create a more sustainable life. Leave the link in the comments for one entry.
  • Share with me your favorite eco-friendly link, and receive an additional entry.

Rules:

  • This event is open to anyone, anywhere on the planet.
  • If your comment doesn’t link to an account please leave me an email address so you can be contacted if you win.
  • Please leave a comment for each of your entries so that I can count them (except for purchase entries).
  • This event will close on April 21st, 2010 at midnight PST.
  • Winners will be chosen using random.org and announced on April 22nd, 2010.
  • Any entry that doesn’t have contact information will be discarded.

Also, at the end of the contest, I’ll compile an Earth Happy Links page from my own favorite links and the best of those

13 thoughts on “Earth Day is Coming! How About a Present?

  1. love love LOVE the knitted goddess pattern! if only i could needle knit – i may try it on a loom though, because that’s knitting in the round….hmmmmm….

  2. Hello from the Metaphysical Etsy!! I’ve posted a link via twitter (although I am not a twitter fanatic!) So, I’ve added your fanpage to my facebook and posted a link on my page for you :-). As for links, there are two I really enjoy. As a homesteader and prepper, one of my favorite informative sights on self-sufficiency is http://www.thesurvivalpodcast.com/. Additionally, I love http://www.motherearthnews.com/ for information on organic gardening and living an eco-friendly life. I hope this gets to you well, and thank you for the awesome give-away opportunity! Many blessings, Kiki

  3. LOL! I don’t think I have time to tweet, pimp and cull links. However, I do love you and will do my best to support your contest.

    Love the NaNoBunnies if you have those patterns posted. If not, it’s a crying shame…

    hugs and happy earth day.

  4. Although I did not even open this post until this morning, aftr Earth Day, I think your give-away is a wondrful idea. I hope you got a bunch of responses, too. We did not do anything special this year, but I was able to raise Larry’s consciousness a little bit, since he has remained oblivious to the fact that there is an Earth Day. He asked why all the TV commercials, etc. were all about being green, so I told him it was Earth Day and that this was the 40th one.

Leave a Reply

