Green Reading: Radical Homemakers

I’m sure some of you remember my recent crisis, wherein cookies and aprons sent me in to a tail spin of doubt about my life style choices.

Fortunately for me, Shannon Hayes’ Radical Homemakers came along at a very important moment! I devoured the book, then loaned it to writing buddy Laura. Now I’m going to read it again, more slowly, so that hopefully I’ll retain more of the details in addition to having

So we’ll start, as usual, with the blurb:

Mother Nature has shown her hand. Faced with climate change, dwindling resources, and species extinctions, most Americans understand the fundamental steps necessary to solve our global crises-drive less, consume less, increase self-reliance, buy locally, eat locally, rebuild our local communities.In essence, the great work we face requires rekindling the home fires.Radical Homemakers is about men and women across the U.S. who focus on home and hearth as a political and ecological act, and who have centered their lives around family and community for personal fulfillment and cultural change. It explores what domesticity looks like in an era that has benefited from feminism, where domination and oppression are cast aside and where the choice to stay home is no longer equated with mind-numbing drudgery, economic insecurity, or relentless servitude. Radical Homemakers nationwide speak about empowerment, transformation, happiness, and casting aside the pressures of a consumer culture to live in a world where money loses its power to relationships, independent thought, and creativity. If you ever considered quitting a job to plant tomatoes, read to a child, pursue creative work, can green beans and heal the planet, this is your book.

I so enjoyed reading this book. It reminded me, for one thing, about why we’ve made the choices we’ve made. And it’s rare that I find so many of my own thoughts and values reflected in something I read. The best thing about it was that it presented me with a concise and articulate explanation of our philosophy and values; something I’ve been struggling to create so that I could talk sensibly about it with others.

I found it amusing to hear that the hubster and I are part of a movement or a trend–we just do what we do because it seems right to us. It’s exciting to find that we aren’t alone, though.

It’s funny to hear our lifestyle called “radical”, though! To us, it’s just good sense.

P.S. if reading the stories of the people in the book isn’t enough for you, you can read more at “Share Your Story” on the Radical Homemakers website.

I’m thinking about writing up my own little blurb about how we got here, and where we hope to go in the future . . . I’d love to hear yours!

2 thoughts on “Green Reading: Radical Homemakers

  1. Wow! Got your blog entry as a pingback, and saw your entry on the “share your story.” Yours is a terrific story — thank you so much for sharing it. It thrills me to no end when people like you speak out. THANK YOU. Shannon Hayes

Leave a Reply

