It’s a Nice Day for a White Veggie

Sorry, I couldn’t help myself. I can hear Billy Idol singing about it now.

Cauliflower (With Peas)

Okay, okay, the joke was lame, but my cauliflower definitely is not. Though we’ve had ridiculous, wet, cold weather all year (except for a few weeks in very early spring),  and therefore may not get tomatoes until the end of September, all the cool weather crops are abundant and wonderful. We’ve just started getting cauliflower, but we’ve had lettuce, broccoli, and peas in abundance for a while now.

Pretty Pretty Garlic

And lookit my pretty pretty garlic! This elephant garlic started out as volunteers–I’m not sure how it got there, to be honest, but every year it pops up in the gravel between my first herb bed and my front porch. I got it all dug up and cleaned off yesterday, and now it’s in the herb trailer curing. The fragrance is almost overwhelming; I’m afraid I’m going to reek of garlic just from working in there this afternoon.

What are you harvesting this week?

Stay tuned: later in the week, there might be photos of BROCCOLI. I know, I know, the anticipation is killing you . . .

2 thoughts on “It’s a Nice Day for a White Veggie

Leave a Reply

