A Knitting Book You Can Really Sink Your Teeth In To

I’m sooooo sorry about that title. Really. But I couldn’t help myself.

In my reading and writing life, 2010 really has sort of been the year of the vampire. So how excited was I when I stumbled across Genevieve Miller’s Vampire Knits? Very excited. Of course I requested a copy from the library to look over, and I think I might have to own it. If any of y’all want to buy  me a Christmas/Yule/Hanukkah/Kwanzaa/Just Because You Love Me present . . . well. This would be a good one.

Okay so I haven’t knitted any of the patterns in it  yet. I don’t CARE!!! This is the cutest knitting book I’ve ever seen. The cover model? So cute. The patterns? CUTE!!!!  I love titles of the sections–things like “Protect Me!” “Just Bitten” and “Bloody Accents”. I love the way the theme is carried throughout the book, with the project names and the little blurbs that accompany them. “There is no better protection from bloodthirsty vampires than this plush hooded cowl, which encircles your delicate and appetizing human neck with warm woolen cables.” I am a total SUCKER for a well carried out theme. Ahem.

So what’s in the book? Well, some of the patterns–like the blood bottle cozy, inspired  by the bottled blood in TrueBlood–are downright silly. CUTE!!! But silly. Not that there’s anything wrong with silly, y’all. I am frequently silly. (I know. You’re shocked.) But there are some really lovely patterns too, like the “pulse protectors”–wrist warmers and a cowl with saxon braid cabling–and my absolute favorite in the book, the “Under Cover of Midnight Hooded Cowl”. It’s a giant cowl. With cables. Be still my heart. There are, of course, scarves and sweaters, a knitted purse, and some little pillows with things like “Got Blood?” in colorwork. There’s also a werewolf section, for you shapeshifter fans. There’s a nice range of projects for several skill levels, and each project is labeled with the skill level required. And the photos are just delightful. I can’t wait to get my own copy.

And I’m totally knitting that giant cowl.

4 thoughts on “A Knitting Book You Can Really Sink Your Teeth In To

Leave a Reply

