Spirals Make Everything Better

A few days ago I was working on a custom charm for someone I met through Etsy. He wanted something to bring loving, calming energy in to his home. Most of the charm came together, as they usually do, very smoothly. Rose hips, rose quartz, aventurine, clustered together on a tiny hand made curly willow wreath. And it was very pretty, but something was missing.

I walked around outside. I dug around in the herb house. I looked at it, and said “What do you need?” Getting nowhere, I turned to one of my little Nature Spirit pieces. I had four lengths of thread that needed things strung on them. Two of them were filled with a random assortment of beads that felt right, and one with several small shells upcycled from a thrift store necklace. But the fourth was still empty. I won’t say it was taunting me, but it was like a big, obnoxious question mark. “WHAT?!” I asked it. I looked through beads. I sat and listened. I stared in to space. I fed the fire in the wood stove. Finally I just started rummaging through random boxes, figuring I’d know it when I saw it . . . and then I opened a box full of various gauges of wire.

Can you spot it? The last thingie? Let’s get closer.

Yep. A spiral. That was all it needed. I can’t believe that I, the spiral addict, didn’t have spirals from the very beginning. Clearly it’s been too long since I made any charms or nature spirits. And of course, once I made the spiral leap, the charm was perfected as well.

Oh yeah. Spirals make everything better.

4 thoughts on “Spirals Make Everything Better

  1. I already knew that spirals make everything better. lol. I don’t think it is a bad thing getting a little obsessed with them. I put them on all of my jewelry, draw them, paint them and generally love them.

  2. Yes they do indeed – I’m a spiral addict too! Have just made my first batch of jewellery in ages and I’m going to be selling at a local craft market (wish me luck!) And spirals are a big theme in my work. Love em!

    What is very interesting is how they come up all over the world in folk art. Must be something universal about them. The Maori use them a lot.

Leave a Reply

