Fictional Friends I’d Love to Hang Out With

After last week’s post on Fictional Friends I Wouldn’t Let Near My Kids, I got to wondering–are there any characters I love in fiction that I really WOULD want to hang out with? In real life? It was much harder to come up with five characters for this list–probably because most of the characters I love are followed by trouble wherever they go, and I have a pretty strict no drama policy. BUT, in the end I came up with five

Fictional Friends I’d LOVE to Hang Out With

5. Tiffany Aching from Terry Pratchett’s The Wee Free Men (et. al.). Tiffany is capable and responsible. She doesn’t whine, and she is refreshingly clear-headed. Okay so she works too hard and has high expectations of herself and others, but she would be a good friend to have in a tough spot. Also, she’s tight with some badass witches. And if she likes you, her buddies the Nac Mac Feegle are less likely to steal your sheep (though no less likely to steal your liquor).

4. Luna Lovegood from the Harry Potter series. Luna would keep me laughing. But she is also very sweet, and in spite of her eccentricities is a talented witch–a very handy sort of person to have around. And she’s a loyal friend. And–did I mention she’s funny?

3. Rae Seddon from Robin McKinley’s Sunshine (which you need to read if you haven’t. RIGHT NOW. Go read it.). Okay, so Sunshine has a little trouble opening up. But she’s a there when you need her kind of girl, and she makes amazing desserts. What more do you need to know?

2. The Aunts from the Practical Magic MOVIE. Yes, they meddle–but they really know how to have a good time, and I suspect I could learn a helluva lot from these two ladies. Also, maybe if we were friends they’d invite me to stay in their amazing house.

1. Johnny Foxxe from Terry Windling’s The Wood Wife. If I had to choose one man from fiction to be my boyfriend, I think it’d be Fox. He can recite poetry, play instruments, and he volunteers teaching kids about music. BUT, he also has all the handy skills a practical-ability-deficient person such as myself desires in a partner. He’s nice to his mama and his sisters. He’s in touch with his spiritual side. And he’s pretty, but not TOO pretty. Swoon.

So what about you? If you could bring characters out of your books, who would you want to have around?

2 thoughts on “Fictional Friends I’d Love to Hang Out With

Leave a Reply

