Writing is NOT Like a Box of Chocolates: a Meme

Forrest Gump’s momma always said, “Life was like a box of chocolates. You never know what you’re gonna get.” I suppose the same could be said of writing, but . . . since we’re writers, we feel compelled to come up with our own silly comparisons.

Photo Courtesy of Wikimedia Commons

Hence the creation of the Box of Chocolates Writing Meme–in which you may compare writing to anything but a box of chocolates.

How does it work? Take the phrase “Writing is like . . .” and finish it. Post it on your blog. Tag three others to do the same. That is all. See how easy that is?

For me?

Writing is like leading a double life.

Because “real life” around here is very farm-girl fabulous. In the summer I spend a lot of time pulling weeds, planting seeds, watering vegetables, hauling wheelbarrows full of soil. And in late summer through the fall I spend a lot of time canning and pickling produce and drying herbs. And in late fall the hubster and I are processing meat chickens–which means I’m plucking feathers. Lots of feathers.

I spend the rest of my time writing paranormal fiction.

The juxtaposition of the two is often kind of surreal.

Like the time I had a dream that evil faeries were attacking my farm, and I had to fend them off with the magical light rays that shot from my palms.

Or the time I was making dill pickles and thinking about how vampire transformations might work for a story I was writing.

Or like every night when I’m cooking dinner and thinking about Trickster figures and prophetic dreams, debating about how much violence is too much, or wondering how exactly iron might be harmful to fairies

My head is a crazy place, y’all. Be happy you can’t see inside.

NOW I get to foist this silly meme of mine upon others! And I choose:

1. Jenny Phresh of The Party Pony. Because I’m pretty sure her answer will be unlike anything I’ve ever seen before.

2. A.M. Supinger of The Inner Owlet, who often freaks me out with her dream stories but who promises to be gracious about being tagged.

3. Susan Warren Utley of Creative Procrastination, because she made me howl with her post about why you should never mow the lawn alone.

21 thoughts on “Writing is NOT Like a Box of Chocolates: a Meme

  1. Ha! I loved this. I also loved Forest Gump, so ya know. And chocolates, of course.

    Erm. *I’m easily distracted–oh, fairies!*

    You are like Uma Thurman as Poison Ivy in Batman. Because of the plants and gardening stuff, ya know. And because she kicked butt. We’ll equate your imagination to Uma’s kicking butt abilities. 🙂 I’m known for accidentally killing
    off my houseplants. That’s how inept I am at
    anything green.

    Would live to see what Phresh comes up with, and AM. I’ll have to follow Susan’s blog now just based on that mowing quip.

    😉

      1. Darn fat fingers! Typo again. I’m forever shamed!

        I meant, I would LOVE to see what Phresh and AM come up with…. I’m pretty sure I would LIVE to see their posts. If not, you can just throw flowers at my grave. I would so appreciate it and I’d promise not to haunt you.

  2. Funny post! I love the examples of your dreams:D One of those would totally fit in on my blog!
    Yay for fun blog/tag/meme stuff!!!

    (My short stories aren’t always creepy, by the way!)

  3. I can’t wait to read the beginning of the BLOGVEL now. I love your imagination. I am on this like a pig in poo. I need another day to craft my stupid response.

    1. Thanks Jenny, I love my imagination too . . . even though it gets me in trouble sometimes!

      Can’t wait to see what you come up with on your blog. 🙂

  4. Writing is like taking the drunkard’s walk. You will make it to the lamppost, but you’ll never know when you’ll hang a right, or a left. 😉

    Cool post and idea, Michelle!

  5. Oooooh, your real life is my dream life! We’ve got our garden going, but I would give anything for chickens. What a fun juxtaposition of interests!

    1. Lydia, honestly my life is MY dream life! Only in my dream life I have a better wardrobe and a live-in masseuse and chef. But you know, other than that, it’s pretty much perfect.

  6. Oh wow! I love that you’re a farmgirl. All the stuff you described, that’s what I used to do w/my grandparents when we spent summers w/them so I can totally relate, and respect you all the more for it!

    GREAT metaphor. And I’ve really enjoyed this meme! I still need to hit a lot more blogs to check out their posts, but right now, it’s back to writing. See you in twitterville. 🙂

    1. It’s been crazy fun tracking this meme across the webs. It’s pretty freaky how fast it’s spreading! And I only had everyone tag three people at once, I’ve seen ones where you have to tag 5 or more. I wonder how many weeks it takes before every blogger everywhere has done it?

Leave a Reply

