Collage for the Commitment-Phobe

I love making collages. I love pulling together images and words that I find inspiring, or thought provoking, or beautiful. BUT, I have a couple of problems with them.

1. I really hate using glue. I don’t like the way it smells, and I always manage to get it all over myself and all nearby surfaces, no matter how careful I try to be. This is not only messy, but also confirms my suspicion that I never really matured much past the age of 6. And my ego is fragile enough without that kind of evidence. (We will not talk about tape.)

2. I fear commitment. Every time I’ve ever made a collage, a month or two later I’ve looked at an image (or two, or several) that I glued into place and thought, “I wish I still had that loose so I could use it for ________.” Regret is a terrible thing, even when it comes to clip art.

But on Saturday night, under the influence of the full moon I felt a desire to make a collage . . . and I found the perfect way to have my cake and eat it too.

The cork board. This cork board was languishing in my closet with a broken frame, but last week I fluttered my eyelashes at the hubster and he fixed it for me. I’d been meaning to hang it over my desk as a sort of inspiration board. Here’s the result.

None of the artwork is my own. It’s all things clipped out of magazines or from greeting cards. The words on the left side are the quote I pasted on my blog Saturday night. I DID make the pink hearts–they are salt dough, with food coloring and dried herbs folded in. And I found the little leaves on one of my walks.

The other items are pendants, an antique butterfly button, a bookmark, and a Kuan Yin prayer mala.

There are some nice advantages to the cork board collage besides it’s impermanence. You can add more three dimensional objects to it than you can a regular collage involving glue. And if you use the clear thumbtacks, you barely notice them.

I’m considering doing one every full moon. It’s a nice way to observe the occasion. I really just sifted through items and chose whatever appealed to me instinctively, but when I was finished I felt like it all really fit together somehow. And it was such a soothing, meditative activity, I felt completely zenned out afterwards.

Maybe we could all do one! And show them on our blogs. Anyone interested? Let me know.

11 thoughts on “Collage for the Commitment-Phobe

  1. YES, I adore cork board collages (and yours is super fab)! Glue and I have never gotten along either. *shakes fist at all forms of glue: guns, sticks, etc*

    Michaels even has schnazzy decorative push pins, if you REALLY want to go cray-cray. πŸ™‚

    My cork board is packed up, but if I fish it out I’ll definitely post some pics.

  2. I’d be interested! But I’m more of a permanent type person I think… That and I don’t have an extra cork board. πŸ™‚
    Are there rules or a deadline or is it everyone for themselves?

  3. So beautiful! I love collages!! And what a super fantastic idea, using corkboard and tacks. You smarty goat. ❀ this! Thanks for sharing your beautiful inspiration. πŸ™‚

  4. What a great idea! Our desires are free flowing and changing constantly in the face of contrast. As we narrow or expand our focus, so must our collages. This is perfect to reflect it! Wonderful post!

  5. I love this! So beautiful and artistic. And I agree with you–it is so zen. Makes me feel calm just looking at it.

    I would love to do a collage, but with little kids in tow, I fear it would end up being a disaster. (arts and crafts and kids??? yeaaahhhh, not zen-like). I’ll just visit your blog instead and hang out here when I need to look at a collage. πŸ˜‰

  6. Your collage board is beautiful! The artwork is inspiring, and the pink hearts you made– wonderful! I love this idea and really like your idea of going glue-less πŸ™‚ So when will your next one be? Will they always be on the full moon?

  7. I’m not a fan of glue either. In fact, I’m not allowed to use super glue (so says me) since I always manage to glue my fingers together.

    That said – your collage is breath taking! I absolutely *love* it! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

