Summer of Bloggerly Love: The End, and a Giveaway

I can’t believe the Summer of Bloggerly Love has come to an end. It went by so fast, as all good things do! I feel like it’s been a resounding success, and I’ve loved so much about it.

I’ve loved the way it forced me to be at the blog all the time–the regular deadlines have really kept the blog flow going.

I’ve loved the surprises. I discovered that my blog friends are sillier and smarter and sweeter than I realized–I knew y’all were awesome, but I didn’t know HOW awesome.

I’ve loved the new friends I’ve met from visiting other blogs.

And I’ve loved all the different kinds of love we’ve explored.

And NOW, I want to SHARE THE LOVE with all of you blog readers and blog swap participants.

You all met my friend Martha last week when she was my final guest of Bloggerly Love. Well, a few years ago, Martha and I collaborated on a project wherein we created a bunch of knitted, embroidered, and beaded hearts. Martha created the pattern and knitted and stuffed the hearts, and I did the embroidery and bead work. Most of them have found homes, but we have three left, and we want to give them to you. Each heart has a tiny pouch inside with herbs and resins, so they smell good too!

To enter, all you have to do is tell us about someone or something you love–a different variety of love for each heart. This is NOT a short story contest. We want your TRUE stories/thoughts about love. We will choose our favorite in each category. Entries won’t be judged on the writing, but on how the entry makes us feel–so PLEASE don’t refrain from entering just because you don’t think of yourself as a writer. This isn’t a contest for writers; this is a contest for people who have experienced love. Since that includes most of us, I hope everyone who wants to will enter.

And one final note: you don’t have to describe some perfect, Hallmark card kind of love. All love is difficult–your struggles are as valuable to the universe as your joys. What we want is authenticity, not air-brushed idealism.

To win the light pink heart, tell us about some kind of platonic love. The story of how you got your most beloved pet, your love for your best friend, your love for your family. Basically, any affectionate relationship with another animated entity that is not romantic is game.

To win the hot pink heart, tell us your love story. How you met the love of your life, why you love your spouse. Tell us about passion, tell us about true love. Happy or sad doesn’t matter–just make it real.

For the orange heart, tell us about your vocational passion, your calling, your life’s work. How did you find the place you belong? What gets you out of the bed in the morning? Tell us about the fire that keeps you going–or about your search for that kind of fire.

Email your entry to michelle [dot] simkins [at] gmail [dot] com. We’ll accept entries until 11:59 p.m. Wednesday, September 14. Martha and I will choose our favorite tales of love, and I’ll announce the winners on Monday, September 19.

You may, if you like, enter all three categories, but you can only win once.

Finally, I pinkyswear that this is NOT a nefarious plot to collect other people’s stories for my writing purposes. Your story is your own, and I won’t use it in my fiction.

That’s it! Thanks again, everyone, for being part of The Summer of Bloggerly love, and for reading my blog, and for being supportive and awesome and beautiful. I hope to have lots more adventures with y’all.

8 thoughts on “Summer of Bloggerly Love: The End, and a Giveaway

  1. I’ll enter… I have a fabulously romantic story about how my hubster proposed to me. 🙂
    And you can go ahead and use it in your fiction if you’d like… I’m not sure anyone would believe it. LOL!

    Steph

  2. Jennie–You SHOULD!

    Steph–got your entry! And I will remind you later that you gave me permission . . . LOL!

    Ashlee–I am so glad you approve! If you didn’t, I would . . . um . . . be sad?

    Riley–Yes, next year, though, I’m sure I’ll choose a different theme and mix things up.

  3. What beautiful hearts! I will tweet this tomorrow. 🙂 As for entering, alas, I’m revising myself into oblivion at the moment, due to my vocational passion. LOL. But good luck to all the entrants and I can’t wait to see who wins!

Leave a Reply

