Friday Flora: Ending

Summer is really ending. This year I’m actually a little sad to see it go: we barely had any warm weather.

But even with a little wistfulness about our brief summer, I still find myself welcoming fall.

It’s not like I could stop it even if I wanted to, right? And resisting the inevitable isn’t a very good use of energy.

Everything is dusty, and the trees edging our property have grime from the lumber mill across the street. Pine resin sticks to all the leaves, and then dust and dirt get kicked up by passing cars and stick to the resin. It will be nice when the rains wash everything off.

And in a way, fall is kind of a relief. The gardening felt particularly hard this year. The hubster and I decided we’ve overextended ourselves, and next year we’re going to scale back. Spend a little more money with local farms, and buy ourselves a little more relaxation time. Plant more perennials, like berries, and eliminate the crush of trying to plant so many new plants every spring. Stop fighting with seeds and grow lights and heating pads, and just buy seedlings at the Farmer’s markets. We both work plenty, even without the vegetable garden–and at some point, you have to accept your limitations and find a new way to live according to your principles without killing yourself in the process.

I doubt the changes will be noticeable to anyone but us. But hopefully, when next September rolls around I’ll feel less like a crazy person. Why are you laughing? It could totally happen.

4 thoughts on “Friday Flora: Ending

  1. “you have to accept your limitations and find a new way to live according to your principles without killing yourself in the process.”

    I think I love you.

    This has been one of the most difficult things for me, as well. I am learning to accept that I am not 21, that I have a disability, and there is no need to keep up with those kids on my campus who pack their schedules so full they can’t breathe. At 42, I want to enjoy myself more. I’ve paid my dues, now it is my turn to just enjoy life. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I am subscribed to your blog but for some reason all the posts are coming in as a Grey screen with no words or images. Any clues? I don’t know what to do?

    1. Are you getting words/text, or nothing at all? The only guess I have is that your email is probably not including the pics. If you use gmail, I know there’s a link near the top of the email that says something like “show images”.

      If that’s not it . . . I honestly have no clue! WordPress is in charge of the subscriptions and how they work, so you might contact their support to ask.

  3. Well said.

    Summer may be over but the memories will last forever. Cliche, but true! I had fun doing summer craziness with you and the gang. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Anyway, Fall is my fave season of all and I’m excited to see the leaves change color. Plus, don’t you feel you grow a little more mature, more somber, and probably wiser by Fall? Maybe it’s just me but I always think of Fall as a time to grow and progress and evolve into a better version of myself. Until summer comes the next year and it’s back to the craziness! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

