Gifts of Green!

A little while back, the lovely and talented Writer Cherie awarded me the Versatile Blogger Award! It is green, which y’all know I love.

She also made a cool picture for me, which is also green!ย  I wanted to put it on my sidebar, but it didn’t look as awesome resized, so I decided to show it to you here. I put it below so that you could appreciate it’s awesomeness. That Cherie, she is so TALENTED.

The Green Woman was a gift, but the reward comes at a price. There are RULES to these things you know. I must:

A. Thank and link to the person who nominated me. (Thank you Cherie! You are the best! May sparkles and sunshine ever light your way!)

B. Share seven random facts about myself.

Well, random facts should be easy enough to come by. I’m a pretty random person. I hope I’m not sharing things I already shared before. If I am, too bad for you.

  1. I have the attention span of a gnat. I get distracted really–oh look, something shiny!
  2. When I was a kid, I had an entire village of imaginary friends. Some of them were so mean to me they made me cry.
  3. My paternal grandmother taught me how to embroider when I was a little kid. I didn’t embroider at all during my teen and college years, but when I started knitting I took up embroidery again.
  4. I’m a process learner, not a lecture learner. Tell me how to do something and you might as well be speaking vulcan. Give me instructions and let me DO it, and I’ll have it down really fast most of the time.
  5. I have a thing about texture. The texture of something–a fabric, a food–is more important than the taste or color or anything else. I love the flavor of mushrooms but I can’t STAND the texture, so when I cook with them I cut them into pieces the size of sunflower seeds. Or I just puree them. I hate synthetic fabrics and most plastic things because they feel gross. And I don’t care how pretty something is, if it’s not nice to touch I don’t want it near me. (There’s a dirty joke in there somewhere, but I’ve only had one cup of tea and can’t figure it out.)
  6. During my Fundamentalist Cult teenage years, I was always that weird girl with no friends. (Okay, I had ONE friend. We spent our lunch hour in the Spanish Teacher’s classroom every day.) Because of my almost friendless high school experience, I am still shocked when people like me, and it surprises me that I have friends. Also, when I first start getting to know someone, I assume they aren’t interested in being my friend unless they ask me outย  on a friend date. On the upside, I am SO GRATEFUL to have kick-ass friends! I looooooove them! It’s good to appreciate what you’ve got.
  7. I don’t like The Doors, or The Beatles, or Pink Floyd. I just don’t.

C. Pass the award along to 5 new-found blogging buddies.

  1. MarthaMouse, who draws awesome pictures just for me (and anyone else who reads her blog, really) and is the best knitting buddy ever.
  2. Darke Conteur, whose blog is a wonderful mix of topics, most of which I find interesting. (Also, she recently published her first novel with Smashwords. You should check her out!)
  3. Intuitive Goddess is a truly gifted tarot reader. Her blog is a gorgeous meditation on spirit.
  4. Tracy Jorgensen of Belief Suspenders does awesome videos that are like Mythbusters for Writers. What a great service!
  5. J. Lea Lopez of Jello World, who shares info about blogging, writing, and erotica. Three of my favorite things!

D. Contact those buddies to congratulate them.

Off to do that now! Twitter counts, right?

7 thoughts on “Gifts of Green!

  1. Awww, I’m so HAPPY you liked my Green Woman picture for you!

    I had to laugh at your imaginary villagers. Wow, I only had an imaginary family so I bow to the awesomeness of your imagination! (and I thought I was weird LOLOLOL)

    I’m with you on process learning. Lectures bore me to tears. It’s probably why I did better in my chemistry lab class than the chemistry class itself. (I won’t tell you my grades.)

  2. Wow, Cherie! Just wow!

    If I had a cool name would you draw me a picture too? I’m so in awe of artists that I have a near reverence for them. Like fall on my knees and bow kind of reverence. My stick animals just don’t cut it…

    Michelle, congrats on your pretty award. You definitely deserve such honor–and a little bowing and scraping as well–especially since it’s so much fun to hear your random facts.

    I LOVE your imaginary village and am thoroughly intrigued with the texture thing. Hugs to you!

  3. Congrats to the winners! Cherie is FAB not only in her writing but in her drawing skills. A little unfair for one goat to have THAT much talent in their little cloven hooves. Heh.

    Great list, Michelle! I had one imaginary friend when I was little. When she started getting on my nerves, I just had her get hit by a car and that was the end of that. Hee! You should’ve been mean and heartless like me. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. Love this Michelle! I’m surprised that you guys allow me to hang with you, the gifted and talented! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Cherie, that drawing just rocks. Congrats to the well-deserving winners. ๐Ÿ™‚ Love you guys bunches!

Leave a Reply

