Friday Flora: Boycotting Black Friday Edition

We are ignoring Black Friday here.

We’ve got leftovers, and a fire in the fireplace, and a bright day. Not quite sunny, but not raining either, and sometimes the sun shows herself.

We’re going into the city tonight and we’ll probably have dinner. So I guess it’s not entirely Buy Nothing day for us. But we’ll hit a local place, so I still feel good about that.

I sort of hate the holidays. People get so weird, and I struggle to walk a sane line between my kids’ wants and my personal values. I don’t want them to feel deprived, but I also want them to be able to look realistically at the world, and at their desires. Tricky business, and never more so than the last month of the year.

I think we do all right. I think they understand that there are many things of value that don’t come from a store. What they’ll do with the things we’ve tried to teach them is already out of my hands, even though they’ll depend on me for a few more years.

And even if I don’t entirely succeed in living by my values all the time, I know I’m glad I passed the morning spending time with my partner and taking pictures instead of fighting crowds at a store. That’s the best reason I can think of for Buy Nothing Day.

10 thoughts on “Friday Flora: Boycotting Black Friday Edition

  1. I am all for Buy Nothing Day! That is how I have always observed Black Friday anyway – so now I can observe it officially. The holiday frenzy that has developed over my lifetime is rather off-putting. I’ve lived long enough to remember simpler times. We made presents, or saved a couple of bucks a week all year so we could shop for presents. Banks even had something called Christmas club accounts. I think quieter celebrations give greater enjoyment; instead of hoopla, lets share some happiness.

  2. We don’t do Black Friday, either. Today we went to a couple of local, pretty quaint shops to look at Christmas decorations and nutcrackers. No crowds, the kids loved getting to pick one ornament each for their Christmas tree, and we all had lunch together with family at another local (non-chain) diner (since it’s our sort-of tradition). I’m glad you had an enjoyable, pleasant time as well. 🙂

  3. And suddenly you know all the work you’ve done, the seeds you have planted and nutured, have grown to fruition when you here your teenage son explaining to his grandmother how he does not support “Big Banking” and uses only a small local credit union to manage his hard-earned money. We can only prevail, because we keep harping!
    Harp on!

  4. I’m glad it’s not just me that hates all the craziness. I stayed at home and got ready for my daughter’s football team’s semi-final playoff game. They lost, but I’d have rather ridden a bus for three hours one way and sit in the freezing cold supporting those boys than stand in lines all day.

Leave a Reply

