U is for Undoing: Pagan Blog Project 2013

This is a little personal–and I don’t like to get too personal on the blog, but this is happening right now and I’m writing my post at the eleventh hour so here goes nothing.

I’m in the process of a divorce. I separated from my ex over a year ago, but it took me a year to get around to filing for a divorce. I followed all the steps, and several weeks ago I signed the last form and paid the last fee. I was told I should receive notice that everything was finished within about 2 and a half weeks.

As I was packing my things last week to move, I came across an object that I created as part of a spell years ago . . . one that had the effect of binding me very tightly to my partner. I put it in a box thinking, “As soon as the divorce is final I’ll burn it.”

Yesterday afternoon marked three weeks with no news.

While I was complaining to the windshield of my car and the unsympathetic pop stars on the radio that I just want it to be done already–or rather, UNdone–it occurred to me that maybe I needed to undo the damn thing on the energetic level NOW. That perhaps this inexplicable hold up could in some way be tied to my ill-conceived spell years ago. (Y’all–doing magic is tricky. You really need to think things through very carefully, or you end up unintentionally sharing half a brain with your friend for a year, or being unable to finish getting a divorce.)

So when I got home I dug outer the object I’d made during my spell–a spell made especially potent by the amount of desperation that fueled it–and did an undoing spell/ritual. I kept it simple: one candle, some matches, and the object to unmake. I called on the elementals, my patron goddess and god, and the spirits I work with to witness and aid in the undoing. Then I (literally) untied the knot. Finally I burned the remaining pieces of the object (outside, on a flame-proof surface).

I find this whole story a little funny because I’ve often been guilty of doing the magic and then not taking all the practical steps to make things happen in the real world. It’s like praying to win the lottery but never buying a ticket. How odd that for once I’ve made all the practical moves and completely failed to do basic energetic and magical steps to make things happen. I guess I’m getting more practical in my old age.

This afternoon I’m going to the courthouse to see what I can find out. I’ll let y’all know how it goes.

5 thoughts on “U is for Undoing: Pagan Blog Project 2013

  1. I hope it works out well for you – your tale indeed is a word of caution when doing magick – think things through, always important when working spells – glad you listened to the Universe! Blessings!

  2. All the best to you and good luck in these tough times! I wish you all the all the support you need, by the Humans and by the Spirits.

  3. Yes, a tricky business indeed, as nature and the universe are wild matter, even feral. And some people do not acknowledge or even perceive the sometimes ugly magic they weave and create. (not a reference to you, dear, other people I know, as I perceive your efforts to always be in honor of the good of the universe). time.

Leave a Reply

