The Beauty of Puddles

Over the weekend we had severe winds; Monday morning when I woke up I half expected to look out the window and see a Yellow Brick Road. But fortunately we stayed firmly anchored, and by Monday afternoon the sun came out for a while. I took the opportunity to for a walk.

Puddle Wonderful 4

The puddles reflected the trees and the (briefly) blue sky.

Puddle Wonderful 2

Just one more thing to love about the rain: puddle reflections. It’s starting to seem like spring about half the time–which is generally the best we can hope for around here, and which is preferable to the snowbound Februaries of my childhood.

Puddle Wonderful 6

Sometimes the reflections are disorienting; when I look down I feel like I could fall into them much deeper than the millimeters of water.Puddle Wonderful 3

Part of the path at the park was flooded, so I had to squelch through the wet grass to avoid backtracking.

Puddle Wonderful 5

I felt like the soggy walk was worth it just for the reflections on the other side of the giant puddle.

I got wet on my return journey–as abruptly as it appeared, the sun disappeared and the wind and rain came back. But it was nothing a nice cup of tea couldn’t cure, and the fresh air was nice after a weekend of hiding indoors.

One thought on “The Beauty of Puddles

  1. These are wonderful, there is someone else out there who sees the world (visually and metaphorically) the same way I notice it. Yay! Thank you so much for posting these, they allow me to feel like less of a misfit. And they also help me reconnect with my own self, and with nature, after other influences pull me away from that.

Leave a Reply

